Electronics & Programming

develissimo

Open Source electronics development and programming

  • You are not logged in.
  • Root
  • » KiCAD
  • » [Kicad-developers] BZR2668 RC2 Feedback [RSS Feed]

#1 Dec. 19, 2010 17:18:21

Brian S.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] BZR2668 RC2 Feedback


Hi Guys,

I have some feedback for the current release candidate as I thought
I'd give it a bash whilst making a new board.

(1) In modedit, the Value field is disabled (at least Field Value is)
for editing in the field properties dialog. However, I can right click
the field and change the Field Value with the Field Edit context menu
option in modedit. I create almost all of my new schematic symbols
like by starting with an old symbol and renaming it via the Value
field, so I'm hoping the field properties dialog will be re-enabled,
but either way something looks broke in the RC.

(2) Selecting a component to place by using "Place a component ->
Select by browser" doesn't work for me, selecting a component and then
closing the Library Browser dialog results in no component selected, I
need to use the "Place a component -> List All" option instead which
appears to work fine.

Apart from that, my schematic is coming along nicely! :-D

Sorry I can't offer any patches to fix at the moment, my dev machine
was dismantled months ago and the replacement still isn't built.

Best Regards,

Brian.

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#2 Dec. 19, 2010 17:33:53

Brian S.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] BZR2668 RC2 Feedback


On 19 December 2010 17:18, Brian Sidebotham <brian.sidebot***@*mail.com> wrote:
> Hi Guys,
>
> I have some feedback for the current release candidate as I thought
> I'd give it a bash whilst making a new board.
>
> (1) In modedit, the Value field is disabled (at least Field Value is)
> for editing in the field properties dialog. However, I can right click
> the field and change the Field Value with the Field Edit context menu
> option in modedit. I create almost all of my new schematic symbols
> like by starting with an old symbol and renaming it via the Value
> field, so I'm hoping the field properties dialog will be re-enabled,
> but either way something looks broke in the RC.

Ah, I just saw the "Create new component from current one" button on
the toolbar. So it looks like that's what is intended, but the field
edit is still inconsistent as described.

Best Regards,

Brian.

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#3 Dec. 19, 2010 19:42:42

jean-pierre c.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] BZR2668 RC2 Feedback


Le 19/12/2010 18:18, Brian Sidebotham a écrit :Hi Guys,

I have some feedback for the current release candidate as I thought
I'd give it a bash whilst making a new board.(2) Selecting a component to place by using "Place a component ->
Select by browser" doesn't work for me, selecting a component and then
closing the Library Browser dialog results in no component selected, I
need to use the "Place a component -> List All" option instead which
appears to work fine.It works.
The upper main tool bar has a tool to insert the selected component in
schematic.
This tool (also existing in *all* previous versions) must be used to insert the
component, not the close command.In previous versions, closing the window also insert the selected component, but usually closing a window is more an abort commandthan a OK command.So I believe the old behavior was a bug.


--
Jean-Pierre CHARRAS


_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#4 Dec. 19, 2010 19:48:02

jean-pierre c.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] BZR2668 RC2 Feedback


Le 19/12/2010 20:42, jean-pierre charras a écrit :Le 19/12/2010 18:18, Brian Sidebotham a écrit :Hi Guys,

I have some feedback for the current release candidate as I thought
I'd give it a bash whilst making a new board....

I forgot in may last mail:
Thanks for your feedback.
This is very important for developers.

--
Jean-Pierre CHARRAS


_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#5 Dec. 19, 2010 22:51:15

Brian S.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] BZR2668 RC2 Feedback


On 19 December 2010 19:42, jean-pierre charras <jp.char***@*anadoo.fr> wrote:
> Le 19/12/2010 18:18, Brian Sidebotham a écrit :
>>
>> Hi Guys,
>>
>> I have some feedback for the current release candidate as I thought
>> I'd give it a bash whilst making a new board.
>>>
>> (2) Selecting a component to place by using "Place a component ->
>> Select by browser" doesn't work for me, selecting a component and then
>> closing the Library Browser dialog results in no component selected, I
>> need to use the "Place a component ->  List All" option instead which
>> appears to work fine.
>>
>
> It works.
> The upper main tool bar has a tool to insert the selected component in
> schematic.
> This tool (also existing in *all* previous versions) must be used to insert
> the component, not the close command.
> In previous versions, closing the window also insert the selected component,
> but usually closing a window is more an abort command than a OK command.
> So I believe the old behavior was a bug.

Ah yes, I can see that now. I have never noticed that before. I agree
closing the window should be considered abort vs. OK. I can't get out
of the habit though!

Thanks for the quick answers as always Jean-Pierre

Best Regards,

Brian.

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#6 Dec. 19, 2010 23:09:11

Brian S.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] BZR2668 RC2 Feedback


On 19 December 2010 19:47, jean-pierre charras <jp.char***@*anadoo.fr> wrote:
> Le 19/12/2010 20:42, jean-pierre charras a écrit :
>>
>> Le 19/12/2010 18:18, Brian Sidebotham a écrit :
>>>
>>> Hi Guys,
>>>
>>> I have some feedback for the current release candidate as I thought
>>> I'd give it a bash whilst making a new board.
>
> ...
>
> I forgot in may last mail:
> Thanks for your feedback.
> This is very important for developers.
>
> --
> Jean-Pierre CHARRAS

No problem Jean-Pierre, I have nearly finished creating my schematic
from scratch (including generating all of the schematic symbols) and
it has been a very smooth experience! Compliments to the developers!
:-D

Best Regards,

Brian.

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

  • Root
  • » KiCAD
  • » [Kicad-developers] BZR2668 RC2 Feedback [RSS Feed]

Board footer

Moderator control

Enjoy the 19th of October
PoweredBy

The Forums are managed by develissimo stuff members, if you find any issues or misplaced content please help us to fix it. Thank you! Tell us via Contact Options
Leave a Message
Welcome to Develissimo Live Support