Electronics & Programming

develissimo

Open Source electronics development and programming

  • You are not logged in.
  • Root
  • » KiCAD
  • » [Kicad-developers] Make USE_WX_ZOOM=ON the default. [RSS Feed]

#1 Jan. 11, 2011 18:34:59

Wayne S.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] Make USE_WX_ZOOM=ON the default.


I have been playing around with USE_WX_ZOOM=ON again because I've yet again run
up against my second least favorite global variable ActiveScreen. It seems to
work fine on both Linux and Windows for displaying, printing, and plotting.
Has anyone using OSX tested this? If there are no technical reasons not to use
it, I would like to make this the default setting to flesh out any corner case
behavior. After any issues have been resolved, I would like to eliminate all
of the #ifdef USE_WX_ZOOM/#endif code and all of the dead code associated with
ActiveScreen. This has the following advantages:

* Gets rid of global variable ActiveScreen.
* Eliminate redundant scaling functions.
* Remove a layer of drawing code complexity.
* Makes me happy :)

Any one have any objections?

Wayne

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#2 Jan. 11, 2011 19:18:35

jean-pierre c.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] Make USE_WX_ZOOM=ON the default.


Le 11/01/2011 19:34, Wayne Stambaugh a écrit :I have been playing around with USE_WX_ZOOM=ON again because I've yet again run
up against my second least favorite global variable ActiveScreen. It seems to
work fine on both Linux and Windows for displaying, printing, and plotting.
Has anyone using OSX tested this? If there are no technical reasons not to use
it, I would like to make this the default setting to flesh out any corner case
behavior. After any issues have been resolved, I would like to eliminate all
of the #ifdef USE_WX_ZOOM/#endif code and all of the dead code associated with
ActiveScreen. This has the following advantages:

* Gets rid of global variable ActiveScreen.
* Eliminate redundant scaling functions.
* Remove a layer of drawing code complexity.
* Makes me happy :)

Any one have any objections?

WayneNo objection for me.
Besides, last release candidates are built with USE_WX_ZOOM=ON

--
Jean-Pierre CHARRAS


_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#3 Jan. 11, 2011 19:23:35

Dick H.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] Make USE_WX_ZOOM=ON the default.


On 01/11/2011 12:34 PM, Wayne Stambaugh wrote:
> I have been playing around with USE_WX_ZOOM=ON again because I've yet again
> run
> up against my second least favorite global variable ActiveScreen. It seems to
> work fine on both Linux and Windows for displaying, printing, and plotting.
> Has anyone using OSX tested this? If there are no technical reasons not to
> use
> it, I would like to make this the default setting to flesh out any corner case
> behavior. After any issues have been resolved, I would like to eliminate all
> of the #ifdef USE_WX_ZOOM/#endif code and all of the dead code associated with
> ActiveScreen. This has the following advantages:
>
> * Gets rid of global variable ActiveScreen.
> * Eliminate redundant scaling functions.
> * Remove a layer of drawing code complexity.
> * Makes me happy :)
>
> Any one have any objections?

Not me. It has been an issue outside my circle of concern, and I don't
claim to even know all the nuances. But from what I gather this simply puts
the burden of doing graphics transforms down into the graphics layer
(outside of Kicad) where it belongs....



If the graphics layer falls over and cannot handle what it claims to be able
to do, then this does not speak well for the graphics layer. Such a
problem, if it were to exist, needs to be on display, not swept under the
rug. We are now in year 2011 after all. The extra scaling in Kicad would
gladly be banished to the museum of computer evolution.



Dick


> Wayne



_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#4 Jan. 11, 2011 19:53:18

Wayne S.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] Make USE_WX_ZOOM=ON the default.


On 1/11/2011 2:18 PM, jean-pierre charras wrote:
> Le 11/01/2011 19:34, Wayne Stambaugh a écrit :
>> I have been playing around with USE_WX_ZOOM=ON again because I've yet again
>> run
>> up against my second least favorite global variable ActiveScreen. It seems
>> to
>> work fine on both Linux and Windows for displaying, printing, and plotting.
>> Has anyone using OSX tested this? If there are no technical reasons not to
>> use
>> it, I would like to make this the default setting to flesh out any corner
>> case
>> behavior. After any issues have been resolved, I would like to eliminate all
>> of the #ifdef USE_WX_ZOOM/#endif code and all of the dead code associated
>> with
>> ActiveScreen. This has the following advantages:
>>
>> * Gets rid of global variable ActiveScreen.
>> * Eliminate redundant scaling functions.
>> * Remove a layer of drawing code complexity.
>> * Makes me happy :)
>>
>> Any one have any objections?
>>
>> Wayne
>>
>
> No objection for me.
> Besides, last release candidates are built with USE_WX_ZOOM=ON

I was not aware of that. I'll make the change to CMakeList.txt in my next
commit. If there are no bugs reported against the drawing code in the next
couple of weeks, I will remove the unused code.

Wayne

>

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#5 Jan. 11, 2011 23:37:27

Marco S.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] Make USE_WX_ZOOM=ON the default.


On 11/gen/2011, at 19.34, Wayne Stambaugh wrote:

Wayne, i had some problems with WX_ZOOM some time ago, expecially with
printing, there was some fixes of wxwidgets latelly, i'll compile and check it
on all 3 OSX main platforms ASAP.
Anyway i'm interested too to simplify the code and reuse the wxwidgets one.

--
Marco

> I have been playing around with USE_WX_ZOOM=ON again because I've yet again
> run
> up against my second least favorite global variable ActiveScreen. It seems to
> work fine on both Linux and Windows for displaying, printing, and plotting.
> Has anyone using OSX tested this? If there are no technical reasons not to
> use
> it, I would like to make this the default setting to flesh out any corner case
> behavior. After any issues have been resolved, I would like to eliminate all
> of the #ifdef USE_WX_ZOOM/#endif code and all of the dead code associated with
> ActiveScreen. This has the following advantages:

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#6 Jan. 11, 2011 23:42:11

Wayne S.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] Make USE_WX_ZOOM=ON the default.


Marco,

Thanks for taking a look a this on OSX. Let me know if you find any
problems and I do my best to fix them.

Wayne

On 1/11/2011 6:37 PM, Marco Serantoni wrote:
>
> On 11/gen/2011, at 19.34, Wayne Stambaugh wrote:
>
> Wayne, i had some problems with WX_ZOOM some time ago, expecially with
> printing, there was some fixes of wxwidgets latelly, i'll compile and check
> it on all 3 OSX main platforms ASAP.
> Anyway i'm interested too to simplify the code and reuse the wxwidgets one.
>
> --
> Marco
>
>> I have been playing around with USE_WX_ZOOM=ON again because I've yet again
>> run
>> up against my second least favorite global variable ActiveScreen. It seems
>> to
>> work fine on both Linux and Windows for displaying, printing, and plotting.
>> Has anyone using OSX tested this? If there are no technical reasons not to
>> use
>> it, I would like to make this the default setting to flesh out any corner
>> case
>> behavior. After any issues have been resolved, I would like to eliminate all
>> of the #ifdef USE_WX_ZOOM/#endif code and all of the dead code associated
>> with
>> ActiveScreen. This has the following advantages:
>
> _______________________________________________
> Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developers> Post to : kicad-develop***@*ists.launchpad.net
> Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developers> More help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp>

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#7 Jan. 12, 2011 20:31:58

Marco S.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] Make USE_WX_ZOOM=ON the default.


On 12/gen/2011, at 00.41, Wayne Stambaugh wrote:
There are some problems with the refresh on pcbnew initially and zooming in and
out the screen remains completly black, i've to understood why.
The great thing is that the subpixel lines are great with the OSX aliasing.

I can workaround that with some forced Refresh(), will impact on performace but
for me is GO.

Marco

> Marco,
>
> Thanks for taking a look a this on OSX. Let me know if you find any
> problems and I do my best to fix them.
>
> Wayne
>
> On 1/11/2011 6:37 PM, Marco Serantoni wrote:
>>
>> On 11/gen/2011, at 19.34, Wayne Stambaugh wrote:
>>
>> Wayne, i had some problems with WX_ZOOM some time ago, expecially with
>> printing, there was some fixes of wxwidgets latelly, i'll compile and check
>> it on all 3 OSX main platforms ASAP.
>> Anyway i'm interested too to simplify the code and reuse the wxwidgets one.
>>
>> --
>> Marco

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#8 Jan. 12, 2011 21:01:10

Wayne S.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] Make USE_WX_ZOOM=ON the default.


On 1/12/2011 3:31 PM, Marco Serantoni wrote:
>
> On 12/gen/2011, at 00.41, Wayne Stambaugh wrote:
> There are some problems with the refresh on pcbnew initially and zooming in
> and out the screen remains completly black, i've to understood why.

This is strange indeed because DrawFrame::Recadre_Trace() calls
DrawPanel::ReDraw() directly instead of issuing a refresh command. Maybe there
is an extra refresh sneaking in somewhere on OSX that doesn't occur on other
platforms. I'm not sure why this is implemented this way, JP may have some
insight as to why the normal refresh isn't being used.

> The great thing is that the subpixel lines are great with the OSX aliasing.
>
> I can workaround that with some forced Refresh(), will impact on performace
> but for me is GO.

I'm sure this works but it seems like an ugly hack to me. I would like to see
if there isn't a better solution before we add an extra refresh for OSX.

Wayne

>
> Marco
>
>> Marco,
>>
>> Thanks for taking a look a this on OSX. Let me know if you find any
>> problems and I do my best to fix them.
>>
>> Wayne
>>
>> On 1/11/2011 6:37 PM, Marco Serantoni wrote:
>>>
>>> On 11/gen/2011, at 19.34, Wayne Stambaugh wrote:
>>>
>>> Wayne, i had some problems with WX_ZOOM some time ago, expecially with
>>> printing, there was some fixes of wxwidgets latelly, i'll compile and check
>>> it on all 3 OSX main platforms ASAP.
>>> Anyway i'm interested too to simplify the code and reuse the wxwidgets one.
>>>
>>> --
>>> Marco
>

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#9 Jan. 12, 2011 21:52:01

Marco S.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] Make USE_WX_ZOOM=ON the default.


On 12/gen/2011, at 22.00, Wayne Stambaugh wrote:
> On 1/12/2011 3:31 PM, Marco Serantoni wrote:
>>
>> On 12/gen/2011, at 00.41, Wayne Stambaugh wrote:
>> There are some problems with the refresh on pcbnew initially and zooming in
>> and out the screen remains completly black, i've to understood why.
>
> This is strange indeed because DrawFrame::Recadre_Trace() calls
> DrawPanel::ReDraw() directly instead of issuing a refresh command. Maybe
> there
> is an extra refresh sneaking in somewhere on OSX that doesn't occur on other
> platforms. I'm not sure why this is implemented this way, JP may have some
> insight as to why the normal refresh isn't being used.

It couldn't be an extra refresh, OSX doesn't support correctly Logical
Operators so i was forced to arrange each draw in solid with wxOverlay.

>> The great thing is that the subpixel lines are great with the OSX aliasing.
>>
>> I can workaround that with some forced Refresh(), will impact on performace
>> but for me is GO.
>
> I'm sure this works but it seems like an ugly hack to me. I would like to see
> if there isn't a better solution before we add an extra refresh for OSX.

A temporary hack can be afforded until the problem is well focused.
the strange thing is that this doesn't happens with eeschema :)
--
Marco_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

  • Root
  • » KiCAD
  • » [Kicad-developers] Make USE_WX_ZOOM=ON the default. [RSS Feed]

Board footer

Moderator control

Enjoy the 23rd of October
PoweredBy

The Forums are managed by develissimo stuff members, if you find any issues or misplaced content please help us to fix it. Thank you! Tell us via Contact Options
Leave a Message
Welcome to Develissimo Live Support