Electronics & Programming

develissimo

Open Source electronics development and programming

  • You are not logged in.
  • Root
  • » KiCAD
  • » [Kicad-developers] RC3a feedback [RSS Feed]

#1 Jan. 12, 2011 22:19:21

Brian S.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] RC3a feedback


Hi Guys,

I've been routing a board this week, and found the Set Grid Origin a
god send! The only trouble is that the grid origin doesn't get saved
with the board.

Is the grid origin meant to be saved with the board file? I would have
thought it should be if it has been moved from 0,0. Otherwise it is
easy to get off-grid when you continue routing the board when you
re-open it.

Thanks for all your hard work, routing this PCB has been really smooth.

Best Regards,

Brian.

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#2 Jan. 13, 2011 00:19:32

Dick H.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] RC3a feedback


On 01/12/2011 04:19 PM, Brian Sidebotham wrote:
> Hi Guys,
>
> I've been routing a board this week, and found the Set Grid Origin a
> god send! The only trouble is that the grid origin doesn't get saved
> with the board.
>
> Is the grid origin meant to be saved with the board file? I would have
> thought it should be if it has been moved from 0,0. Otherwise it is
> easy to get off-grid when you continue routing the board when you
> re-open it.
>
> Thanks for all your hard work, routing this PCB has been really smooth.
>
> Best Regards,
>
> Brian.

>From my recollection, Lorenzo made a patch to save that option in the board
file, and it never got committed. This is at least a year ago. I think he
has his own tree local on his disk and it is in there. It would be
wonderful if you could find the original patch and get it in sync with
current code. Would need a way to search the mailing list, or maybe Lorenzo
has a better idea.


Dick


_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#3 Jan. 13, 2011 10:08:46

Brian S.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] RC3a feedback


On 12 January 2011 23:40, Dick Hollenbeck <d***@*oftplc.com> wrote:
> On 01/12/2011 04:19 PM, Brian Sidebotham wrote:
>> Hi Guys,
>>
>> I've been routing a board this week, and found the Set Grid Origin a
>> god send! The only trouble is that the grid origin doesn't get saved
>> with the board.
>>
>> Is the grid origin meant to be saved with the board file? I would have
>> thought it should be if it has been moved from 0,0. Otherwise it is
>> easy to get off-grid when you continue routing the board when you
>> re-open it.
>>
>> Thanks for all your hard work, routing this PCB has been really smooth.
>>
>> Best Regards,
>>
>> Brian.
>
> >From my recollection, Lorenzo made a patch to save that option in the board
> file, and it never got committed.  This is at least a year ago.  I think he
> has his own tree local on his disk and it is in there.  It would be
> wonderful if you could find the original patch and get it in sync with
> current code.  Would need a way to search the mailing list, or maybe Lorenzo
> has a better idea.
>
>
> Dick
>

Hi Dick,

Thanks for the response. This is the original email from Lorenzo for
the original patch:

Quote Lorenzo 13/10/2009
---
I uploaded the file gridorigin-r2010.diff.gz

Only slightly tested (but is a really simple patch anyway).

Notes:
- I added the tool under the aux axis tool, with the same icon. It
could be put under the show grid button maybe. With a new icon :P
- There may be some fuzz in the patch because I also have other in
house modifications. Please note in pcbnew/tool_pcb there are some
AddSeparator tagged to removal; I kept it to avoid invalidating the
patch (I removed separators to be able the use the 800x480 screen on
the EEE);
- I flagged the m_UserGridIsON. It seems to be unused;
- The juice of the computation is in common/zoom.cpp. That seems to be
the only place involved with grid computations;
- The origin is not saved in the .brd file. I'm not sure if it could
be useful... anyway I thing pcbnew/ioascii.cpp is the place to look
into for it.

Hope to make Dick and other people happy :P (I'm already using this :D)
---

There is nothing else in the archives relating to the grid origin as
far as I can see. The original patch I guess is lost along with the
kicad-devel yahoo group.

I will dig around the source and see if I can add the functionality as
I'm sure it is more expected to be saved if it has changed.

Best Regards,

Brian.

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#4 Jan. 13, 2011 10:53:08

Lorenzo M.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] RC3a feedback


On Wed, 12 Jan 2011, Brian Sidebotham wrote:I've been routing a board this week, and found the Set Grid Origin a
god send! The only trouble is that the grid origin doesn't get saved
with the board.I devised the grid origin mostly for placing modular connectors and
similar stuff... of course everyone use it however they please.
Just out of curiosity what are you using it for?Is the grid origin meant to be saved with the board file? I would have
thought it should be if it has been moved from 0,0. Otherwise it is
easy to get off-grid when you continue routing the board when you
re-open it.It should be trivial to save it in the board, we just need to allocate
an identifier for it in the save file.

--
Lorenzo Marcantonio
Logos Srl

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#5 Jan. 13, 2011 10:56:00

Lorenzo M.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] RC3a feedback


On Wed, 12 Jan 2011, Dick Hollenbeck wrote:From my recollection, Lorenzo made a patch to save that option in the boardfile, and it never got committed. This is at least a year ago. I think he
has his own tree local on his disk and it is in there. It would be
wonderful if you could find the original patch and get it in sync with
current code. Would need a way to search the mailing list, or maybe Lorenzo
has a better idea.I don't remember saving it, but anyway we can treat it exactly as the
auxiliary drilling origin. It should be a two-line implementation...
(depending on the current state of the work on the file I/O since
there's a lot of discussion on it)

--
Lorenzo Marcantonio
Logos Srl

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#6 Jan. 13, 2011 13:26:19

Wayne S.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] RC3a feedback


On 1/13/2011 5:55 AM, Lorenzo Marcantonio wrote:
> On Wed, 12 Jan 2011, Dick Hollenbeck wrote:
>
>>> From my recollection, Lorenzo made a patch to save that option in the board
>> file, and it never got committed. This is at least a year ago. I think he
>> has his own tree local on his disk and it is in there. It would be
>> wonderful if you could find the original patch and get it in sync with
>> current code. Would need a way to search the mailing list, or maybe Lorenzo
>> has a better idea.
>
> I don't remember saving it, but anyway we can treat it exactly as the
> auxiliary drilling origin. It should be a two-line implementation...
> (depending on the current state of the work on the file I/O since
> there's a lot of discussion on it)

It probably should be saved in the section of the project file. This
would make it a two liner.

Wayne

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#7 Jan. 13, 2011 16:10:56

Marco M.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] RC3a feedback


If there's more than one board in a project, the board file might more
suitable. It's the same thing with the plotting options that were
discussed earlier. However, I think that typically people have only
one board per project (?).

marco

On Thu, Jan 13, 2011 at 3:25 PM, Wayne Stambaugh <stambau***@*erizon.net> wrote:
>
> It probably should be saved in the section of the project file.  This
> would make it a two liner.
>
> Wayne

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#8 Jan. 13, 2011 16:30:10

Lorenzo M.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] RC3a feedback


On Thu, 13 Jan 2011, Marco Mattila wrote:If there's more than one board in a project, the board file might more
suitable. It's the same thing with the plotting options that were
discussed earlier. However, I think that typically people have only
one board per project (?).It's not possible to have more than one board per project IIRC... anyway
it seems a setting logically more suitable to be saved in the board file.

--
Lorenzo Marcantonio
Logos Srl

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#9 Jan. 13, 2011 17:27:06

Brian S.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] RC3a feedback


On 13 January 2011 16:29, Lorenzo Marcantonio
<l.marcanto***@*ogossrl.com> wrote:
> On Thu, 13 Jan 2011, Marco Mattila wrote:
>
>> If there's more than one board in a project, the board file might more
>> suitable. It's the same thing with the plotting options that were
>> discussed earlier. However, I think that typically people have only
>> one board per project (?).
>
> It's not possible to have more than one board per project IIRC... anyway
> it seems a setting logically more suitable to be saved in the board file.
>
> --
> Lorenzo Marcantonio
> Logos Srl
>

Hi Guys,

Thanks for all the feedback. I associate the origin with the board
file because there is only one board. It might make more sense in the
section of the project file if multiple boards were supported
in future.

I do think it could do with being saved though, it'd be a great help
for anyone who has re-positioned the origin.

Lorenzo, I use this feature because I always like to position
switches, connectors and other mechanical features relating to a
single datum point (usually lower left of PCB edge, but sometimes the
enclosure is included too, and the board should be made to reference
from that.

Previously I used to have to put my board off of the sheet legend that
is present in PCBNEW so that it's lower left corner was the datum at
0, 0.

Best Regards,

Brian.

_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

#10 Jan. 13, 2011 23:58:50

Dick H.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

[Kicad-developers] RC3a feedback


On 01/13/2011 11:25 AM, Brian Sidebotham wrote:
> On 13 January 2011 16:29, Lorenzo Marcantonio
> <l.marcanto***@*ogossrl.com> wrote:
>> On Thu, 13 Jan 2011, Marco Mattila wrote:
>>
>>> If there's more than one board in a project, the board file might more
>>> suitable. It's the same thing with the plotting options that were
>>> discussed earlier. However, I think that typically people have only
>>> one board per project (?).
>> It's not possible to have more than one board per project IIRC... anyway
>> it seems a setting logically more suitable to be saved in the board file.
>>
>> --
>> Lorenzo Marcantonio
>> Logos Srl
>>
> Hi Guys,
>
> Thanks for all the feedback. I associate the origin with the board
> file because there is only one board. It might make more sense in the
> section of the project file if multiple boards were supported
> in future.
>
> I do think it could do with being saved though, it'd be a great help
> for anyone who has re-positioned the origin.
>
> Lorenzo, I use this feature because I always like to position
> switches, connectors and other mechanical features relating to a
> single datum point (usually lower left of PCB edge, but sometimes the
> enclosure is included too, and the board should be made to reference
> from that.
>
> Previously I used to have to put my board off of the sheet legend that
> is present in PCBNEW so that it's lower left corner was the datum at
> 0, 0.
>
> Best Regards,
>
> Brian.

Brian,

Apparently my memory was wrong, there was no patch to save the origin to the
board file. In fact, I may have actually volunteered to do that and never
found time.

I am sorry for the confusion.

Someone needs to still write it, and I think anyone would welcome anyone
doing it. I cannot do it anytime soon.

Dick


_______________________________________________
Mailing list:https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersPost to : kicad-developers@lists.launchpad.net
Unsubscribe :https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developersMore help :https://help.launchpad.net/ListHelp

Offline

  • Root
  • » KiCAD
  • » [Kicad-developers] RC3a feedback [RSS Feed]

Board footer

Moderator control

Enjoy the 20th of October
PoweredBy

The Forums are managed by develissimo stuff members, if you find any issues or misplaced content please help us to fix it. Thank you! Tell us via Contact Options
Leave a Message
Welcome to Develissimo Live Support