Electronics & Programming

develissimo

Open Source electronics development and programming

  • You are not logged in.
  • Root
  • » Django
  • » Running new-admin branch with trunk [RSS Feed]

#1 Nov. 10, 2005 10:04:38

[EMAIL P.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

Running new-admin branch with trunk


Hi

I currently have the trunk django running a little prject on my server
(it's working well its a great product)

However when I come to make a second application some of the things I
need to do I'm told are only possible in the new admin branch.

I need to keep the original project running and I want to install the
new admin branch to create a new project. But I need to do it on the
same server. Is it possible to run the two side by side? What is the
best way of doing this?

I'm a bit scared of breaking my original project (being paranoid
perhaps)

Thanks
Charlotte

Offline

#2 Nov. 10, 2005 11:20:53

Kenneth G.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

Running new-admin branch with trunk


On Thursday 10 Nov 2005 3:34 pm, wrote:
> I need to keep the original project running and I want to install the
> new admin branch to create a new project. But I need to do it on the
> same server. Is it possible to run the two side by side? What is the
> best way of doing this?

if you are using apache, just use a different directory for your new app
- yourdomain.com/firstapp/ and yourdomain.com/secondapp/

--
regards
kghttp://www.livejournal.com/users/lawgontally ho!http://avsap.org.inಇಂಡ್ಲಿನಕ್ಸ வாழ்க!

Offline

#3 Nov. 10, 2005 12:13:36

Robert W.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

Running new-admin branch with trunk


wrote:
> Hi
>
> I currently have the trunk django running a little prject on my server
> (it's working well its a great product)
>
> However when I come to make a second application some of the things I
> need to do I'm told are only possible in the new admin branch.
>
> I need to keep the original project running and I want to install the
> new admin branch to create a new project. But I need to do it on the
> same server. Is it possible to run the two side by side? What is the
> best way of doing this?
>
> I'm a bit scared of breaking my original project (being paranoid
> perhaps)
>
> Thanks
> Charlotte
>
>
You can do this by checking out new-admin to a different location, and
then using a different PYTHONPATH setting in your server setup.

Rob

Offline

Board footer

Moderator control

Enjoy the 18th of November
PoweredBy

The Forums are managed by develissimo stuff members, if you find any issues or misplaced content please help us to fix it. Thank you! Tell us via Contact Options
Leave a Message
Welcome to Develissimo Live Support