Electronics & Programming

develissimo

Open Source electronics development and programming

  • You are not logged in.

#1 Dec. 17, 2010 14:32:03

M.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

PyDev Django Debugging


Hi,

I am new to Django trying to port a web site from PHP to Django. I use
Apache web server and I have a problem with the debugging. I use
Aptana PyDev as IDE and i want to use the debugger in the toolbar. I
define the workspace in the the debug configuration as well as the
main module (manage.py). I have 2 APPS defined in INSTALLED_APPS in
settings.py. For example the names of the apps are: "basesite" and
"mysite". "mysite" app is located in the current directory, which
contains manage.py, settings.py, urls.py, etc. On the other hand,
"basesite" is located in another path (../../apps/basesite/). When i
click on Debug, i get an error: "Error no module name basesite". It
seems that it is not visible.
However, the application works properly in a run mode (not debug)
using the apache web server. The only issue is that i do not know what
i have to configure or what i miss in the debugging...

I would appreciate if you could help me.

Thank you in advance!

MLG

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups
"Django users" group.
To post to this group, send email to django-us...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to
django-users+unsubscr...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit this group athttp://groups.google.com/group/django-users?hl=en.

Offline

#2 Dec. 17, 2010 14:51:36

Tim S.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

PyDev Django Debugging


Here's my instructions for debugging in PyDev, hope that helps:http://drumcoder.co.uk/blog/2010/apr/21/debugging-django-pydev/This is done using the development server, not Apache, from within Eclipse.

Does your app work in the development server?

Tim.

> Hi,
>
> I am new to Django trying to port a web site from PHP to Django. I use
> Apache web server and I have a problem with the debugging. I use
> Aptana PyDev as IDE and i want to use the debugger in the toolbar. I
> define the workspace in the the debug configuration as well as the
> main module (manage.py). I have 2 APPS defined in INSTALLED_APPS in
> settings.py. For example the names of the apps are: "basesite" and
> "mysite". "mysite" app is located in the current directory, which
> contains manage.py, settings.py, urls.py, etc. On the other hand,
> "basesite" is located in another path (../../apps/basesite/). When i
> click on Debug, i get an error: "Error no module name basesite". It
> seems that it is not visible.
> However, the application works properly in a run mode (not debug)
> using the apache web server. The only issue is that i do not know what
> i have to configure or what i miss in the debugging...
>
> I would appreciate if you could help me.
>
> Thank you in advance!
>
> MLG
>
> --
> You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups
> "Django users" group.
> To post to this group, send email to django-us...@googlegroups.com.
> To unsubscribe from this group, send email to
> django-users+unsubscr...@googlegroups.com.
> For more options, visit this group at
>http://groups.google.com/group/django-users?hl=en.
>
>


--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups
"Django users" group.
To post to this group, send email to django-us...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to
django-users+unsubscr...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit this group athttp://groups.google.com/group/django-users?hl=en.

Offline

#3 Dec. 17, 2010 15:03:38

M.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

PyDev Django Debugging


Hi Tim,

Thank you for your prompt response.

The "runserver --noreload" is in place as well in the arguments tab. I
have already set this option. The truth is that i haven't tried to run
the application in the development server but directly in the apache.

The structure is as follow:
1)web/sites/mysite
2)web/sites/app/basesite

The (1) is the main project which will contain a lot of applications
(INSTALLED_APPS). Also, it has the manage.py, settings.py, urls.py,
etc
(2) is the "basesite" application. It contains only urls.py. models.py
and media_urls.py at this time (no manage.py - not sure if this is the
problem).

Thank you.

MLG


On Dec 17, 4:51 pm, "Tim Sawyer" <list.dja...@calidris.co.uk> wrote:
> Here's my instructions for debugging in PyDev, hope that helps:
>
>http://drumcoder.co.uk/blog/2010/apr/21/debugging-django-pydev/>
> This is done using the development server, not Apache, from within Eclipse.
>
> Does your app work in the development server?
>
> Tim.
>
> > Hi,
>
> > I am new to Django trying to port a web site from PHP to Django. I use
> > Apache web server and I have a problem with the debugging. I use
> > Aptana PyDev as IDE and i want to use the debugger in the toolbar. I
> > define the workspace in the the debug configuration as well as the
> > main module (manage.py). I have 2 APPS defined in INSTALLED_APPS in
> > settings.py. For example the names of the apps are: "basesite" and
> > "mysite". "mysite" app is located in the current directory, which
> > contains manage.py, settings.py, urls.py, etc. On the other hand,
> > "basesite" is located in another path (../../apps/basesite/). When i
> > click on Debug, i get an error: "Error no module name basesite". It
> > seems that it is not visible.
> > However, the application works properly in a run mode (not debug)
> > using the apache web server. The only issue is that i do not know what
> > i have to configure or what i miss in the debugging...
>
> > I would appreciate if you could help me.
>
> > Thank you in advance!
>
> > MLG
>
> > --
> > You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups
> > "Django users" group.
> > To post to this group, send email to django-us...@googlegroups.com.
> > To unsubscribe from this group, send email to
> > django-users+unsubscr...@googlegroups.com.
> > For more options, visit this group at
> >http://groups.google.com/group/django-users?hl=en.

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups
"Django users" group.
To post to this group, send email to django-us...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to
django-users+unsubscr...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit this group athttp://groups.google.com/group/django-users?hl=en.

Offline

#4 Dec. 17, 2010 19:19:43

Tim S.
Registered: 2009-11-02
Reputation: +  0  -
Profile   Send e-mail  

PyDev Django Debugging


Hi,You need to get it working in the dev server first, as you'll need thatto debug with (I think).You need to modify the pythonpath so it can see your code.

Modify manage.py in (1) and try running the dev server with:

python manage.py runserver.

You'll need something like this at the top of manage.py

import syssys.path = +sys.pathTim.


On 17/12/10 15:03, MLG wrote:Hi Tim,

Thank you for your prompt response.

The "runserver --noreload" is in place as well in the arguments tab. I
have already set this option. The truth is that i haven't tried to run
the application in the development server but directly in the apache.

The structure is as follow:
1)web/sites/mysite
2)web/sites/app/basesite

The (1) is the main project which will contain a lot of applications
(INSTALLED_APPS). Also, it has the manage.py, settings.py, urls.py,
etc
(2) is the "basesite" application. It contains only urls.py. models.py
and media_urls.py at this time (no manage.py - not sure if this is the
problem).

Thank you.

MLG


On Dec 17, 4:51 pm, "Tim Sawyer"<list.dja...@calidris.co.uk> wrote:Here's my instructions for debugging in PyDev, hope that helps:http://drumcoder.co.uk/blog/2010/apr/21/debugging-django-pydev/This is done using the development server, not Apache, from within Eclipse.

Does your app work in the development server?

Tim.Hi,I am new to Django trying to port a web site from PHP to Django. I use
Apache web server and I have a problem with the debugging. I use
Aptana PyDev as IDE and i want to use the debugger in the toolbar. I
define the workspace in the the debug configuration as well as the
main module (manage.py). I have 2 APPS defined in INSTALLED_APPS in
settings.py. For example the names of the apps are: "basesite" and
"mysite". "mysite" app is located in the current directory, which
contains manage.py, settings.py, urls.py, etc. On the other hand,
"basesite" is located in another path (../../apps/basesite/). When i
click on Debug, i get an error: "Error no module name basesite". It
seems that it is not visible.
However, the application works properly in a run mode (not debug)
using the apache web server. The only issue is that i do not know what
i have to configure or what i miss in the debugging...I would appreciate if you could help me.Thank you in advance!MLG--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups
"Django users" group.
To post to this group, send email to django-us...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to
django-users+unsubscr...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit this group athttp://groups.google.com/group/django-users?hl=en.--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Django
users" group.
To post to this group, send email to django-us...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to
django-users+unsubscr...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit this group athttp://groups.google.com/group/django-users?hl=en.

Offline

Board footer

Moderator control

Enjoy the 19th of August
PoweredBy

The Forums are managed by develissimo stuff members, if you find any issues or misplaced content please help us to fix it. Thank you! Tell us via Contact Options
Leave a Message
Welcome to Develissimo Live Support